2I guess Disney has always just been there.  Even during the times when my interest has waned a little Disney remained there as a comfort blanket ready to return to whenever I needed it.  Like a loyal friend or my mothers home cooking!

I don’t remember my first Disney interaction.  Let’s be honest who does?  It probably came before I developed my memory! However I do remember watching traditional Disney cartoons such as Mickey Mouse, Donald Duck and my personal favourite, Goofy!  Then of course there were the classic animated feature films.  I was fortunate enough to grow up during The Disney Renaissance and as such the first films I remember were
Aladdin, Beauty and The Beast, The Little Mermaid and (the amazing) 3The Lion King! All classics.  Throw into that the arrival of Pixar and Toy Story plus a childhood visit to, the then, Euro Disney closely followed by a trip Stateside to Walt Disney World a few years later and it’s easy to see why I got the ‘bug.’

Soon after the new millennium my eldest daughter was born which provided the perfect opportunity to keep watching Disney movies and buying her Disney stuff (including lots of Belle items – her favourite princess!)  I’ve lost count of the number of times I watched Finding Nemo and Monsters Inc.  The fantastic memories I have of watching them with my daughter and seeing her enjoy them leaves them as two of my favourite Disney films.  In the case of Monsters Inc, it’s arguably my favourite of all time…but then I don’t know if you can ever have just one Disney favourite?!

So why is this blog named …Into The Twilight Zone?

image
Me outside The Tower Of Terror at Disneyland Paris, 2015.

Well, over the years I’ve been lucky enough to ride The Twilight Zone Tower of Terror several times in both Florida and Paris and I can’t get enough of it.  I love the way you are immersed in such a clever story from the moment you enter the queue, in a way that only Disney can.  I love the attention detail in the hotel set.  I love the use of film, particularly in the library which creeps me out!  Plus the cleverly selected sound effects which only add to the foreboding sense of doom.  I love that music!  1I love the Cast Members who play their role so well when you step into the lift.  And of course I love the ride itself including the randomised accelerated drops!  In short, despite loving rollercoasters an awful lot, The Tower of Terror is my favourite ride not just at Disney but at any theme park.

 

 

 

